100 join the ranks of the Pennsylvania State Police

Governor Rendell Congratulates 100 New Graduates of the State Police Academy

HARRISBURG, Pa., Dec 05, 2008

Governor Edward G. Rendell congratulated 100 men and women who joined the ranks of the Pennsylvania State Police today following their graduation from the State Police Academy in Hershey.

“These new troopers will help protect our residents and ensure the safety of our communities,” Governor Rendell said. “Because of the training they’ve received at the academy, we expect them to uphold the high standards that long have been associated with the Pennsylvania State Police. I congratulate them on the achievement they’re celebrating today.”

Commissioner Frank E. Pawlowski offered remarks at today’s ceremony, which was held at Central Dauphin High School near Harrisburg. Cadet Jeremy N. Leaman of Paradise, Lancaster County, spoke on behalf of the cadet class.

Cadet Brian E. Janoski of East Stroudsburg, Monroe County, was named the outstanding cadet by his classmates and instructors, receiving the American Legion Award.

Also receiving awards were:

Cadet Kenneth F. Palmer Jr. of Cranberry, Butler County – Daniel F. Dunn

High Scholastic Award;

Cadet Jason A. Keirstead of Philadelphia – Charles B. Gesford High

Pistol Award;

Cadet Justin R. Ely of Tunkhannock, Wyoming County – Col. Paul J. Chylak

Memorial Driver Proficiency Award; and

Cadet Daniel J. Wilk of Coal Township, Northumberland County – John K.

Schafer Memorial Physical Fitness Award.

Major John W. Laufer III, director of the state police Bureau of Training and Education, supervised the training of the class, which was the 127th class to graduate from the State Police Academy in Hershey since it opened in 1960.

The 100 graduates have been assigned to seven different state police troops across the commonwealth.

The Rendell administration is committed to creating a first-rate public education system, protecting our most vulnerable citizens and continuing economic investment to support our communities and businesses. To find out more about Governor Rendell’s initiatives and to sign up for his weekly newsletter, visit www.governor.state.pa.us.

NOTE TO EDITORS: A list of graduates and their home towns, arranged by the location of their troop assignment, follows:

Troop C, Punxsutawney, Jefferson County

Michael J. Moskel of West Decatur, Clearfield County

Kenneth F. Palmer Jr. of West Chester, Chester County

Troop E, Erie, Erie County

Robert C. Baldwin of Edinboro, Erie County

Emily L. Bergonzi of Gibsonia, Allegheny County

Jon R. Bershok of McDonald, Washington County

Jeffrey S. Cross of Franklin, Venango County

Matthew L. Dugan of Pittsburg, Allegheny County

Andrew G. Goss of Youngsville, Warren County

Preston E. Holsinger of Erie, Erie County

Michael J. Larkin of Carmichaels, Greene County

Cynthia D. Stephens of Titusville, Crawford County

Troop G, Hollidaysburg, Blair County

Patrick R. A. Biddle of West Newton, Westmoreland County

Cameron W. Craig of White Oak, Allegheny County

Nathan J. Drumm of Nicktown, Cambria County

Jesse L. Dumm of Summerhill, Cambria County

Patrick G. Egros Jr. of Belle Vernon Westmoreland County

Jeffrey J. Hetzel of Pittsburgh, Allegheny County

Jeremy L. Leasure of Marion Center, Indiana County

Brett J. Massafra of Donora, Washington County

Sean R. McKenzie of West Newton, Westmoreland County

Jason P. Michaels of Penn Run, Indiana County

Jeffrey S. Nicholson Jr. of Connellsville, Fayette County

Michael F. Taylor of Elizabeth, Allegheny County

Troop H, Harrisburg, Dauphin County

Davon J. Allensworth of Pittsburgh, Allegheny County

Robin W. Brown of Pittsburgh, Allegheny County

Michael A. Bruce of Strabane, Washington County

Christopher J. Campbell of Pittsburgh, Allegheny County

James R. David Jr. of Uniontown, Fayette County

Jonathan P. Eberhardt of Greensburg, Westmoreland County

Justin R. Ely of Tunkhannock, Wyoming County

Brian M. Evarts of Lock Haven, Clinton County

Maeve A. Feldman of Gettysburg, Adams County

Robert P. Harvey Jr. of Altoona, Blair County

Matthew A. Hunter of Shavertown, Luzerne County

Richard M. Kline III of Shippensburg, Cumberland County

Sarah E. Knepp of McClure, Mifflin County

John M. Maggs of Lock Haven, Clinton County

Jeremiah R. Mistick of Mechanicsburg, Cumberland County

Kimberly A. Moore of New Columbia, Union County

Scott T. Myers of Ebensburg, Cambria County

Gerald E. Powell Jr. of Uniontown, Fayette County

Ryan A. Remington of Jefferson, Greene County

Stephen M. Rowe of Lower Burrell, Westmoreland County

Derek L. Schrader of Meyersdale, Somerset County

James M. Shearer of Pittsburgh, Allegheny County

Derrick L. Watters of Wellsboro, Tioga County

Daniel J. Wilk of Coal Township, Northumberland County

Jonathan D. Wolfe of Mill Hall, Clinton County

Troop J, Lancaster, Lancaster County

Norbert J. Brennan of Pottsville, Schuylkill County

Rebecca R. Clatch of Drums, Luzerne County

Emmett J. Coleman of Homestead, Allegheny County

Daniel P. Covert of Jeffersonville, Montgomery County

Tayfun O. Denk of West Lawn, Berks County

Aaron D. Dykes of West Chester, Chester County

Scott M. Enedy of Wrightsville, York County

Royce E. Engler of Wapwallopen, Luzerne County

Zachary E. Fronk of Shenandoah, Schuylkill County

Shauntai L. Hall of Masontown, Fayette County

Michael D. Hodgskin of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County

Kyle L. Kutz of Cressona, Schuylkill County

Jeremy N. Leaman of Paradise, Lancaster County

Jose I. Lebron of Reading, Berks County

Steven L. Ledwich of Manheim, Lancaster County

Kevin Lee of Dublin, Bucks County

Justin D. Marquis of West Chester, Chester County

Bernie J. Mullen Jr. of Feasterville, Bucks County

Jason P. Pennington of Exton, Chester County

Jonathan W. Potoka of Lancaster, Lancaster County

Jeffrey M. Swope of Phoenixville, Chester County

Damian T. Temperine of Harrisburg, Dauphin County

Jonathan D. Thomas of Aliquippa, Beaver County

James P. Trunfio of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County

Troop K, Philadelphia, Philadelphia County

Kamhong Cheang of Lansdale, Montgomery County

Michael P.. Clarke of Pittsburgh, Allegheny County

Brendan M. Connor of Drexel Hill, Delaware County

Nicholas DeAngeles of Pottsville, Schuylkill County

Timothy A. Dolena of Coaldale, Schuylkill County

Joshua P. Emberger of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County

Patrick W. Francis of Telford, Montgomery County

Joseph R. Harmon of Lansdale, Montgomery County

Jerrold R. Hatfield of Ardmore, Montgomery County

Brian E. Janoski of East Stroudsburg, Monroe County

Jason A. Keirstead of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County

Thomas P. Kruse of Oreland, Montgomery County

Joseph P. Lombardo of Pittston, Luzerne County

Christopher J. Massari of Huntingdon Valley, Montgomery County

Robert J. Neff of Pottstown, Montgomery County

Brian V. Noll of Lebanon, Lebanon County

Thomas C. O’Konski of West Chester, Chester County

John Tsai of York, York County

Troop M, Bethlehem, Northampton County

Joseph C. Dominick of Old Forge, Lackawanna County

Shaun M. Flynn of West Pittston, Luzerne County

Jonathan G. Hickman of Easton, Northampton County

Matthew A. LoPresto of Pittston, Luzerne County

Matthew C. Lowe of Emmaus, Lehigh County

Emanuel C. Montalbano of Coopersburg, Bucks County

Lauren E. Piccini of Avoca, Lackawanna County

Derek W. Thomas of Wyoming, Luzerne County

Christopher W. Tomlinson of Scranton, Lackawanna County

Joseph M. Wasylyk of Newfoundland, Pike County


Chuck Ardo


Jack J. Lewis


SOURCE Pennsylvania Office of the Governor


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s