45 graduate from the Pennsylvania State Police Academy

Governor Rendell Announces Graduation of 45 Cadets from State Police Academy

HARRISBURG, Pa., Aug. 21 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — Governor Edward G. Rendell announced that 45 men and women joined the ranks of the Pennsylvania State Police today following their graduation from the State Police Academy in Hershey, Dauphin County.

“These women and men have received the best possible training and are well prepared to face the challenges of law enforcement,” Governor Rendell said. “We are counting on these new troopers to help Pennsylvania continue to protect its residents and ensure the safety of our communities.”

Delaware County District Attorney Joseph W. Carroll was principal speaker at the ceremony, which was held at Central Dauphin High School. Commissioner Frank E. Pawlowski offered remarks and Cadet Reginald T. Roberson of Pittsburgh spoke on behalf of the cadet class.

Cadet Sean M. Jenary of Punxsutawney, Jefferson County, was named the outstanding cadet by his classmates and instructors, receiving the American Legion Award.

Also receiving awards were:

  • Cadet Edward A. Knapp of Ulster, Bradford County — Daniel F. Dunn High Scholastic Award.
  • Cadet Gary W. Haskell Jr. of Jackson, Susquehanna County — Charles B. Gesford High Pistol Award;
  • Cadet Bradley T. Wolak of Slippery Rock, Butler County — Col. Paul J. Chylak Memorial Driver Proficiency Award; and
  • Cadet Stephen M. Penkala II of York, York County — John K. Schafer Memorial Physical Fitness Award.

Major John W. Laufer III, director of the Bureau of Training and Education, supervised the training of the class, which was the 129th class to graduate from the State Police Academy in Hershey since it opened in 1960.

The graduates, who hail from 30 counties, have been assigned to seven state police troops across Pennsylvania and will report to their stations on Aug. 31.

EDITOR’S NOTE: A list of graduates and their hometowns, organized by the location of their troop assignment, follows:

Troop E, Erie, Erie County

Bradley T. Wolak of Slippery Rock, Butler County

Troop F, Montoursville, Lycoming County

Sean M. Jenary of Punxsutawney, Jefferson County

Roger L. McCloskey of Luthersburg, Clearfield County

Chad E. Savannah of Butler, Butler County

Troop H, Harrisburg, Dauphin County

Marnie L. Johns of Derry, Westmoreland County

Nicholas J. Loughner of Latrobe, Westmoreland County

Christina A. Marth of Canonsburg, Washington County

Albert C. Miles III of Canonsburg, Washington County

Reginald T. Roberson of Pittsburgh, Allegheny County

Troop J, Lancaster, Lancaster County

Elisha T. Bomberger of Lititz, Lancaster County

Tien N. Duong of Lancaster, Lancaster County

Michael D. Glentzer of Dayton, Armstrong County

Nicholas D. Long of Lancaster, Lancaster County

Troop K, Philadelphia, Philadelphia County

Daniel Bradley of Lewistown, Mifflin County

Charlton R. Burno of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County

Benjamin J. Campana of Jersey Shore, Lycoming County

William S. Clipp II of New Cumberland, Cumberland County

Michael R. DeAngelo of Bushkill, Pike County

Matthew A. Gibson of Carlisle, Cumberland County

Krystal L. Hartman of York Haven, York County

Joshua L. Herman of West Milton, Union County

Adam M. Jacobini of Bensalem, Bucks County

Luke C. Macke of Carlisle, Cumberland County

Brian Maturo of Drexel Hill, Delaware County

Kenneth M. Noto of Media, Delaware County

Stephen M. Penkala II of York, York County

Khon M. Tang of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County

Patrick L. Wise Jr. of Altoona, Blair County

Thomas Zachwieja of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County

Troop L, Reading, Berks County

Matthew A. Deck of Lebanon, Lebanon County

Brandon K. Goss of Morgantown, Berks County

Adam J. Janosko of Munhall, Allegheny County

Edward A. Knapp of Ulster, Bradford County

Kevin M. Masinick of Shenandoah, Schuylkill County

Timothy J. Rymarkiewicz of Orwigsburg, Schuylkill County

Troop M, Bethlehem, Northampton County

Nicholas A. Goldsmith of Allentown, Lehigh County

Carrie A. Gula of West Pittston, Luzerne County

Deepak Gupta of Hershey, Dauphin County

Gary W. Haskell Jr. of Jackson, Susquehanna County

Jeremy M. Hayes of Easton, Northampton County

Kenneth E. Johansson of Greentown, Pike County

Eric P. McAndrew of Nicholson, Wyoming County

Victor M. Quinones III of East Stroudsburg, Monroe County

Jason J. Rogowski of Mayfield, Lackawanna County

Richard R. Willhardt of Easton, Northampton County


    Jack J. Lewis, PSP



    Gary Tuma




Source: Pennsylvania State Police

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s